ReachRxResearch
Home
Research
Sign Up
  1. Home
  2. Research Hub
  3. Skin-Specific Outcomes of Brepocitinib i…

Skin-Specific Outcomes of Brepocitinib in Patients With Dermatomyositis

JAMA Dermatology·August 26Open Access
DermatologyPractice changingDermatomyositisRandomized Controlled TrialJAK InhibitorTYK2 InhibitorAdultBrepocitinib

Summary

View source

What was studied

This prespecified secondary analysis of the phase 3 VALOR RCT evaluated once-daily brepocitinib (30 mg or 15 mg) vs. placebo over 52 weeks in 241 adults with active dermatomyositis, focusing on cutaneous disease activity (CDASI-A), itch (PP-NRS), skin-related QOL (Skindex-16), and remission-level skin endpoints.

Key findings

Brepocitinib 30 mg was superior to placebo from week 4 onward: mean CDASI-A change −6.4 vs −3.5 (difference −3.0; 95% CI −4.6 to −1.4; P<.001); itch remission (PP-NRS ≤1) achieved in 38.3% vs 19.0%; and among those with moderate-to-severe skin disease, functional skin remission (CDASI-A ≤5) in 43.5% vs 20.8% at week 52.

Study limitations

Secondary/exploratory analysis of a trial powered for broader endpoints, not skin-specific outcomes; the 15 mg dose results are not detailed in the abstract, limiting dose-comparison conclusions; follow-up was 52 weeks with no data beyond that timeframe.

Clinical implications

Brepocitinib 30 mg once daily produced rapid (by week 4), sustained, and remission-level skin control in dermatomyositis — consider it a strong oral option for patients with active cutaneous disease. The safety profile aligns with other approved JAK/TYK2 inhibitors, so standard monitoring applies.

Caveats

  • Brepocitinib is described as 'first-in-class' and phase 3; regulatory approval status as of the publication date is not stated in the paper.
  • Results for the brepocitinib 15 mg dose arm are not reported in the provided abstract, so no dose-comparison conclusions can be drawn.
  • This is a prespecified secondary analysis of the VALOR trial; the primary trial was powered for broader efficacy endpoints, not the skin-specific outcomes reported here — effect sizes should be interpreted with appropriate caution.

Related Questions

Explore related topics

What JAK or TYK2 inhibitors are effective for dermatomyositis skin disease?How does brepocitinib compare to other treatments for cutaneous dermatomyositis?What monitoring is recommended for patients on JAK inhibitors for inflammatory myopathies?

Publication Details

Year
2026
Journal
JAMA Dermatology
Sample Size
n=241
Source
View article
Keep scrolling
More content below.
Up Next